The Team

We are connected by many years of experience in scientific project work and by a strong network in Austria and Europe.

The primary task of the WPZ Research Team is to prepare scientific studies in our subject areas. It is also a priority of the WPZ Research Team to cooperate on a project-by-project basis, i.e. to involve further national and international researchers into project work, whether in the field of economics or involving other disciplines such as social sciences, law, etc. These reports should be prepared using methodological diversity (quantitative and qualitative). In order to achieve these goals, a team of experienced staff members (senior researchers) is required.

WPZ Research was therefore founded by a team of scientifically proven economists with experience in the field of economic policy and a managing director with business management expertise and extensive knowledge in the fields of innovation, education and evaluation. All employees have many years of experience in scientific project work (application and contract research) and are well connected in the Austrian and European community.

The corresponding qualification also makes it possible to involve young scientists in project work or to supervise them in their independent work.

WPZ Research Team

Dr. Brigitte Ecker

Contact

+43 (0)1 8903225-201

  +43 (0)664 3454235

 brigitte.ecker@wpz-research.com

Brigitte Ecker, Managing Director of WPZ Research, studied business administration at the Johannes Kepler University Linz, where she received her doctorate with distinction in 2003. After several years working in the business sector, she joined Joanneum Research – Centre for Economic and Innovation Research Vienna in 2004.

Read more
In 2013 Brigitte Ecker joined the Institute for Advanced Studies (IHS) in Vienna, where she was head of the research group “Innovation, Education and Sustainability” from 2014 on. In summer 2016 she founded WPZ Research. Brigitte Ecker is also Consultant at the Institute for Innovation and Technology (iit) of VDI/VDE Innovation + Technik GmbH in Berlin, as well as Lecturer for Innovation and Technology Management at Technikum Wien. Her work focuses on RTI policy, higher education research and evaluation.

 Download CV

Dr. Ulrich Schuh

Contact

+43 (0)1 8903225-201

  +43 (0)664 8568416

 ulrich.schuh@wpz-research.com

Ulrich Schuh, Head of Economic Policy at WPZ Research, studied economics at the University of Vienna and finished his doctorate in 2002. He completed a postgraduate course at the Institute for Advanced Studies (IHS) from 1990 to 1992. From 1992 to 1999 Ulrich Schuh worked at the Federal Ministry of Finance in the Economic Policy Department.

Read more
From 1999 to 2011 he was employed at the Institute for Advanced Studies (IHS) as a research assistant, from 2004 as department head of the Department of Economics and Finance. From 2011 to 2016 he headed the EcoAustria Institute. Ulrich Schuh was Head of Directorate-General at the Federal Ministry of Science, Research and Economy. Dr. Schuh’s research focuses on the public sector, tax policy, empirical labour market research and macroeconomic modelling.

Laura Dusl, LL.B.
Contact

Laura Dusl completed her Bachelor in Business Law at the Vienna University of Economics and Business Administration in April 2020. Afterwards, she started her Master in Business Law and joined WPZ Research as a research assistant.

Susanne Fröhlich

Contact

Susanne Fröhlich worked for more than 20 years for a non-university research institute in the field of economics and social sciences in project management, quality control and layout and as back office manager for an international sports association. She supports the WPZ Research Team with her expertise since November 2019.

Michaela Gstrein

Dr. Michaela Gstrein
Contact

Michaela Gstrein studied commercial sciences, completed a post-graduate degree in economics at the Institute for Advanced Studies (IHS) and a doctorate in economics at the Vienna University of Economics and Business. From 2002 on she was Senior Researcher at the Institute for Advanced Studies (IHS) in Vienna, and from September 2016 on Michaela Gstrein has been working at WPZ Research.
Read more

Her research focuses on quality of life, social security, integration and cohesion, families/family benefits, female employment, work life balance, gender, demography/growth/employment, youth, migration and policy evaluation.

 Download CV

Julian Johs

Contact

+43 (0)1 8903225-202

 julian.johs@wpz-research.com

Julian Johs is currently finishing his bachelor’s degree in business, economics and social sciences with a focus on economics at the Vienna University of Economics and Business. In the winter semester 2018/19 he spent one semester abroad at the Université de Lausanne in Switzerland. Julian Johs joined WPZ Research as a research assistant in November 2019.

Mara Kritzinger, MSc
Contact


+43 (0)1 8903225-202

mara.kritzinger@wpz-research.com

Mara Kritzinger graduated with honors from the Bachelor’s program in Economics and Social Sciences with a focus on Economics and from the Master’s program in Economics at the Vienna University of Economics and Business  Administration. Since June 2019, Mara Kritzinger has been working as aresearch assistant at WU.

Read more

As of July 2020, Mara Kritzinger joined WPZ Research and is working on DSGE models in the area of “Economic Policy, Banking and Finance” under the supervision of Univ. Prof. Christian Keuschnigg.

Viola Nellessen, M.Sc.

Contact

Viola Nellessen studied economics at the Universities of Mannheim and Freiburg (Germany) and completed her master’s degree in February 2020. Her master’s thesis focused on overcoming obstacles to reform in the development of a cross-border, sustainable electricity market in Europe. Read more

After her studies, Viola Nellessen worked for seven months as an intern at the Austrian National Bank in the Financial Stability and Macroprudential Supervision Department. Since March 2021, she supports the WPZ Research team as a research assistant.

Dr. Andreas Pfaffel
Contact

Andreas Pfaffel studied psychology at the University of Vienna, where he completed his doctoral studies in social and economic sciences with excellent results in 2016. From 2011, he worked as an educational psychologist and evaluator at the Institute of Applied Psychology: Work, Education, Economics at the University of Vienna in several research and evaluation projects.

Read more

As a lecturer he has been teaching evaluation research, qualitative and quantitative research methodology as well as presentation and moderation techniques at the University of Vienna since 2011 and at the Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt since March 2020. Research Methodology as well as Presentation and Moderation Technique. Since September 2020 he is working at WPZ-Research in the field of education/university research and evaluation.

 Download CV

Nino (Nini) Popkhadze, M.Sc.

Contact

Nini Popkhadze joined WPZ Research as a research associate in February 2021. She is currently finalizing her Master’s degree in “Research and Innovation in Higher Education (MaRIHE 2019-2021)”. She graduated with a Bachelor’s degree in Law from the University of Tbilisi in 2012 and a Master’s degree in Education Administration from the University of Ilia in 2018.
Read more

Nini worked at the Free University of Tbilisi as a Program Coordinator for Law (2016-2018), and she also worked at the National Center for Educational Quality Enhancement from 2018-2019, conducting institutional evaluation of Georgian higher education institutions. Her work focuses on topics such as transformation of higher education institutions, innovation, entrepreneurship, and data governance.

Dr. Verena Régent

Contact

+43 (0)1 8903225-202

 sascha.sardadvar@wpz-research.com

Verena Régent studied sociology and social economy at the Johannes Kepler University Linz and the University of Helsinki. From 2011, she worked in research and consulting companies for the acquisition and management of third-party funded research projects at the interface between social sciences and new technologies.
Read more

From 2016 she was Senior Lecturer at Lauder Business School, since 2020 she is external expert at the Research Executive Agency of the European Commission. In February 2021, she will start as a research associate at WPZ Research GmbH. Her work focuses on areas such as higher education research, innovation, and knowledge and technology transfer.

Dr. Christian Reiner

Contact

Christian Reiner studied economic geography and economic history at the University of Vienna and the University of Salzburg. He was a senior researcher at the Institute for Advanced Studies from September 2013 and previously worked at the Center for Economic and Innovation Research at Joanneum Research in Vienna.

Read more
Christian Reiner joined Lauder Business School in September 2016 and is also part of the WPZ Research Team. His work focuses on areas such as structural change, innovation dynamics, industrial and innovation policy, and policy evaluation; methodologically, his main focus is on microeconometric methods. He teaches economics and statistics at universities and universities of applied sciences.
Sascha Sardadvar

Prof.(FH) Priv.-Doz. Dr. Sascha Sardadvar
Contact

+43 (0)1 8903225-203

 sascha.sardadvar@wpz-research.com

Sascha Sardadvar studied economics at the University of Vienna, Freie Universität Berlin and the Vienna University of Economics and Business. In July 2015, he obtained an authorisation to teach for Economic Geography and Regional Science at the Vienna University of Economics and Business.
Read more

From 2005 to 2015 he worked at the Institute of Economic Geography and Geoinformatics of the Vienna University of Economics and Business, in the winter semester 2014/15 he spent a research sabbatical at the National Research University Higher School of Economics in Moscow. His research focuses on regional economic growth, interregional migration, market behaviour and innovation economics. Sascha Sardadvar also works as a part-time lecturer at the University of Vienna, Ferdinand Porsche Fernfachhochschule, IMC FH Krems and the Modul University Vienna.

 Download CV

 List of publications

Alex Zanol

Contact

Project assistent

Doris Wimmer, BA

Contact

Web Development and Support

Akkurat Identity, Gmunden

Einblick in unsere aktuellen Projekte

Das Team

Uns verbindet eine langjährige Erfahrung in der wissenschaftlichen Projektarbeit und eine gute Vernetzung in Österreich und auf europäischer Ebene.

Die primäre Aufgabe des WPZ Research Teams besteht darin, wissenschaftliche Studien in den verschiedenen Arbeitsbereichen zu erarbeiten bzw. zu verfassen. Auch ist es ein prioritäres Ziel, für Fragestellungen projektbezogen zu kooperieren; d.h. weitere nationale wie auch internationale ForscherInnen, sei es im Bereich der Ökonomie oder sei es auch unter Einbeziehung anderer Disziplinen wie Sozialwissenschaften, Rechtswissenschaften etc., in die Studien bzw. die Projektarbeit einzubeziehen. Diese Studien sollen dann unter Berücksichtigung der methodischen Vielfältigkeit (quantitativ wie qualitativ) verfasst werden. Um diese Ziele bzw. Besonderheiten erreichen zu können, bedarf es eines Stabs von erfahrenen MitarbeiterInnen (Senior Researchers).

Der Start der WPZ Research GmbH erfolgte daher in Form eines Teams von wissenschaftlich ausgewiesenen und im Bereich der Wirtschaftspolitik erfahrenen ÖkonomInnen sowie einer Geschäftsführerin mit betriebswirtschaftlicher Ausbildung und weitreichenden Kenntnissen in den Bereichen Innovation, Bildung und Evaluierung. Alle MitarbeiterInnen weisen eine langjährige Erfahrung in der wissenschaftlichen Projektarbeit (Antrags- und Auftragsforschung) aus und sind in der österreichischen Community wie auch auf europäischer Ebene gut vernetzt.

Durch die entsprechende Qualifikation ist es zudem möglich, NachwuchswissenschaftlerInnen in Projektarbeiten einzubinden bzw. diese bei ihren eigenständigen Arbeiten zu betreuen.

WPZ Research Team

Dr. Brigitte Ecker

Kontakt

+43 (0)1 8903225-201

  +43 (0)664 3454235

 brigitte.ecker@wpz-research.com

Brigitte Ecker, Geschäftsführerin der WPZ Research, studierte Wirtschaftswissenschaften an der Johannes Kepler Universität Linz, promovierte dort mit ausgezeichnetem Erfolg im Jahr 2003 und war nach mehrjähriger Tätigkeit in der Wirtschaft ab 2004 wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Zentrum für Wirtschafts- und Innovationsforschung der Joanneum Research in Wien tätig.

Mehr lesen
Im Jahr 2013 wechselte Brigitte Ecker an das Institut für Höhere Studien Wien, wo sie ab 2014 die Forschungsgruppe „Innovation, Bildung und Nachhaltigkeit“ leitete. Im Sommer 2016 gründete sie die WPZ Research GmbH, von welcher sie auch die Geschäftsführerin ist. Zudem ist Brigitte Ecker Konsulentin am Institut für Innovation und Technik (iit) der VDI/VDE Innovation + Technik GmbH in Berlin, sowie Lektorin für Innovations- und Technologiemanagement am Technikum Wien. Ihre Arbeitsschwerpunkte liegen in den Bereichen FTI-Politik, Hochschulforschung und Evaluierung.

 CV herunterladen

Dr. Ulrich Schuh

Dr. Ulrich Schuh

Kontakt

+43 (0)1 8903225-201

  +43 (0)664 8568416

 ulrich.schuh@wpz-research.com

Ulrich Schuh, wirtschaftspolitischer Leiter der WPZ Research, studierte Volkswirtschaft an der Universität Wien und schloss sein Doktoratsstudium im Jahr 2002 ab. Er absolvierte einen postgraduate Lehrgang am Institut für Höhere Studien 1990 bis 1992. Im Zeitraum 1992 bis 1999 war Ulrich Schuh am Bundesministerium für Finanzen in der Abteilung für Wirtschaftspolitik tätig.

Mehr lesen
Von 1999 bis 2011 war er am Institut für Höhere Studien als wissenschaftlicher Angestellter, ab 2004 als Abteilungsleiter der Abteilung Ökonomie und Finanzwirtschaft angestellt. Von 2011 bis 2016 leitete er das Institut EcoAustria. Von 2016-2018 war Ulrich Schuh Sektionschef im Bundesministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Wirtschaft. Forschungsschwerpunkte von Dr. Schuh stellen Fragen des öffentlichen Sektors, Steuerpolitik, empirische Arbeitsmarktforschung und makroökonomischer Modellbau dar.

Laura Dusl, LL.B.

Kontakt

Laura Dusl hat ihren Bachelor in Wirtschaftsrecht an der Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien im April 2020 abgeschlossen. Danach hat sie ihren Master in Wirtschaftsrecht begonnen und als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am WPZ Research begonnen.

Susanne Fröhlich

Kontakt

Susanne Fröhlich war über 25 Jahre für ein außeruniversitäres Forschungsinstitut im Bereich der Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften im Bereich Projektmanagement, Qualitätskontrolle und Layout und als Backoffice Manager für einen internationalen Sportverband tätig. Sie unterstützt das WPZ Research Team mit ihrer Expertise seit November 2019.

Michaela Gstrein

Dr. Michaela Gstrein
Kontakt

Michaela Gstrein studierte Handelswissenschaften, absolvierte das Post-Graduate in der Ökonomie am Institut für Höhere Studien sowie das Doktorat in Volkswirtschaftslehre an der Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien. Ab 2002 war sie Senior Researcher am Institut für Höhere Studien Wien, mit September 2016 ist Michaela Gstrein an der WPZ Research tätig.

Mehr lesen
Zu ihren Forschungsschwerpunkten zählen Lebensqualität , soziale Sicherheit, Integration und Kohäsion, Familien/Familienleistungen, weibliche Erwerbstätigkeit, work life balance, gender, Demographie/Wachstum/Beschäftigung, Situation von Jugendlichen, Migration sowie Evaluierung von Politikmaßnahmen.

 CV herunterladen

Julian Johs, BSc

Kontakt

+43 (0)1 8903225-202

 julian.johs@wpz-research.com

Julian Johs schloss das Bachelorstudium Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften mit Schwerpunkt Volkswirtschaft an der Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien mit Auszeichnung ab. Im Wintersemester 2018/19 verbrachte er ein Auslandsemester an der Université de Lausanne in der Schweiz.

Mehr lesen
Seit November 2019 ist Julian Johs als wissenschaftlicher Assistent bei WPZ Research tätig und absolviert er das Masterstudium Volkswirtschaft an der WU. Unter der Leitung von Univ. Prof. Christian Keuschnigg arbeitet Julian Johs an DSGE-Modellen.

Mara Kritzinger, MSc
Kontakt

+43 (0)1 8903225-202

 mara.kritzinger@wpz-research.com

Mara Kritzinger absolvierte das Bachelorstudium Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften mit Schwerpunkt Volkswirtschaft und das Masterstudium Volkswirtschaft an der Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien mit Auszeichnung. Bis Februar 2020 war Mara Kritzinger als Forschungsassistentin an der Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien tätig.

Mehr lesen
Per Juli 2020 verstärkte Mara Kritzinger WPZ Research und arbeitet unter der Leitung von Univ. Prof. Christian Keuschnigg an DSGE-Modellen im Bereich „Economic Policy, Banking and Finance“.

Hanna Merki, BSc

Kontakt

Hanna Merki schloss ihren Bachelor in Politics, Psychology, Law and Economics mit Fokus auf Economics cum laude im Juni 2020 an der University of Amsterdam ab. Seit Oktober 2020 studiert sie im Master Economics an der Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien.

Mehr lesen
Im Sommer 2020 hat sie als Praktikantin bei dem ifo Zentrum für Bildungsökonomik gearbeitet. Neben dem Studium beteiligt sich Hanna Merki bei FiscalFuture, einer Initiative junger Menschen, die sich für Investitionenbedarf in Deutschland und Europa einsetzt. Hanna Merki unterstützt das WPZ Research Team seit Mai 2021 als wissenschaftliche Assistentin..

Viola Nellessen, M.Sc.

Kontakt

Viola Nellessen studierte Volkswirtschaftslehre an den Universitäten Mannheim und Freiburg (Deutschland) und hat ihren Master im Februar 2020 abgeschlossen. In ihrer Masterarbeit beschäftigte sie sich mit der Überwindung von Reformhindernissen beim Ausbau eines grenzüberschreitenden, nachhaltigen Strommarktes in Europa.

Mehr lesen
Nach ihrem Studium arbeitete Viola Nellessen sieben Monate als Praktikantin in der Österreichischen Nationalbank in der Abteilung für Finanzmarktstabilität und Makroprudenzielle Aufsicht. Seit März 2021 unterstützt sie das Team des WPZ Research als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin.

Dr. Andreas Pfaffel

Kontakt

Andreas Pfaffel studierte Psychologie an der Universität Wien und schloss dort sein Doktoratsstudium der Sozial- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften 2016 mit ausgezeichnetem Erfolg. Ab 2011 arbeitete er Bildungspsychologe und Evaluator am Institut für Angewandte Psychologie: Arbeit, Bildung, Wirtschaft an der Universität Wien in mehreren Forschungs- und Evaluationsprojekten.

Mehr lesen
Als Lehrbeauftragter unterrichtet er seit 2011 an der Universität Wien und seit März 2020 auch an der Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt Evaluationsforschung, qual. und quant. Forschungsmethodik sowie Präsentations- und Moderationstechnik. Seit September 2020 ist er am WPZ-Research im Bereich Bildungs-/Hochschulforschung und Evaluation tätig.

 CV herunterladen

Nino (Nini) Popkhadze, M.Sc.

Kontakt

Nini Popkhadze ist seit Februar 2021 als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am WPZ Research tätig. Derzeit finalisiert sie ihr Masterstudium „Research and Innovation in Higher Education (MaRIHE 2019-2021)“. Sie schloss 2012 ihren Bachelor in Rechtswissenschaften an der Universität Tiflis und 2018 ihren Master in Education Administration an der Universität Ilia ab.

Mehr lesen
Nini arbeitete an der Freien Universität Tiflis als Programmkoordinatorin für Rechtswissenschaften (2016-2018), außerdem war sie von 2018-2019 am National Center for Educational Quality Enhancement tätig und führte sie die institutionelle Evaluation der georgischen Hochschulen durch. Ihre Arbeitsschwerpunkte umfassen Themen wie Transformation der Hochschulen, Innovation, Unternehmertum und Data Governance.

Dr. Verena Régent

Kontakt

+43 (0)1 8903225-202

 verena.regent@wpz-research.com

Verena Régent studierte Soziologie und Sozialwirtschaft an der Johannes Kepler Universität Linz und der Universität Helsinki. Sie war ab 2011 in Forschungs- und Beratungsunternehmen für die Akquise und Abwicklung drittmittelfinanzierter Forschungsprojekte an der Schnittstelle zwischen Sozialwissenschaften und neuen Technologien tätig.
Mehr lesen

Ab 2016 war sie Senior Lecturer an der Lauder Business School, seit 2020 ist sie externe Expertin bei der Research Executive Agency der Europäischen Kommission. Mit Februar 2021 startet sie als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin an der WPZ Research GmbH. Ihre Arbeitsschwerpunkte umfassen Bereiche wie Hochschulforschung, Innovation sowie Wissens- und Technologietransfer.
Christian Reiner

Dr. Christian Reiner

Kontakt

Christian Reiner studierte Wirtschaftsgeographie und Wirtschaftsgeschichte an der Universität Wien und der Universität Salzburg. Er war ab September 2013 als Senior Researcher am Institut für Höhere Studien tätig und arbeitete zuvor am Zentrum für Wirtschafts- und Innovationsforschung der Joanneum Research in Wien.
Mehr lesen

Seit September 2016 ist Christian Reiner an der Lauder Business School tätig und arbeitet auch im WPZ Research Team mit. Seine Arbeitsschwerpunkte umfassen Bereiche wie Strukturwandel, Innovationsdynamik, Industrie- und Innovationspolitik sowie Politikevaluierung, methodisch liegen seine Schwerpunkte auf mikroökonometrische Verfahren. Er unterrichtet Volkswirtschaftslehre und Statistik an Universitäten und Fachhochschulen.
Sascha Sardadvar

Prof.(FH) Priv.-Doz. Dr. Sascha Sardadvar

Kontakt

+43 (0)1 8903225-203

 sascha.sardadvar@wpz-research.com

Sascha Sardadvar studierte Volkswirtschaft an der Universität Wien, der Freien Universität Berlin sowie an der Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien. An der Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien erlangte er im Juli 2015 die Lehrbefugnis für das Fach Economic Geography and Regional Science.
Mehr lesen

Von 2005 bis 2015 arbeitete er am Institut für Wirtschaftsgeographie und Geoinformatik der Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien, im Wintersemester 2014/15 verbrachte er ein Forschungs-Sabbatical an der National Research University Higher School of Economics in Moskau. Zu seinen Arbeitsschwerpunkten zählen Fragen regionalen Wirtschaftswachstums, interregionaler Migration, des Marktverhaltens sowie der Innovationsökonomik. Zudem arbeitet Sascha Sardadvar nebenberuflich als Lehrbeauftragter an der Universität Wien, der Ferdinand Porsche Fernfachhochschule, der IMC FH Krems und der Modul University Vienna.

 CV herunterladen

 List of publications

Studienassistenz

Website & IT

Akkurat Identity, Gmunden

Doris Wimmer, BA

 akkurat.com

Einblick in unsere aktuellen Projekte